ECGS foundation

The ECGS was created in Luxembourg on June 13th, 1988 ( as published in the Memorial “C” N.41- February 15, 1989, pp 1936-1938) in accord with the Accord Partiel Ouvert (APO) established by Governments from the States Member of the European Council.

This APO, concerning prevention, protection and assistance organization against technological and major natural risks (Agreement EUR-OPA on Major Risks) has passed the Resolution (87) 2 from the 2nd of March 1987, in which European Community Commission and the UNESCO, the Health World Organization and the Humanitary Affairs Department from the United Nations took part.

On May 17th, 1994, a Convention was signed in-between ECGS and the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, defining the following tasks for which the ECGS will be supported:

  • To promote programs in Geodynamics Research, related to the study of Tectonics Distortions in connection with Earthquakes,with a particular emphasize on Space Techniques.
  • To improve the relationship between specialists from different scientific disciplines by supporting regular meetings as part of the Journées Luxembourgeoises de Géodynamique (JLG), and also by encouraging colloquia and workshops.
  • To equip the Underground Geodynamics Laboratory in Walferdange with the necessary scientific and technical equipment for the study of deformation in a tectonically active zone, in order to test its performance in an aseismic site.
  • To undertake these specific actions in a scientific interest.

The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg provides annual support to:

  • Cover the cost of the permanent staff
  • Organize the Journées Luxembourgeoises de Geodynamique (JLG)
  • Colloquia and workshops related to geodynamics and seismology
  • Support will also be provided to cover the cost of publishing the “Cahiers de l’ECGS” and
  • the cost of the maintenance and equipment of the Walferdange Geodynamic Laboratory.

The ECGS structure

Administrative council 2021-2024

  • Mr. Michel Feider (Luxembourg)
  • Mr. Bernard Reisch (Luxembourg)
Secretary General:
  • Mr. Eric Buttini (Luxembourg)
  • Mr. Robert Colbach (Luxembourg)
  • Mr. Alain Faber (Luxembourg)
  • Mr. Jean-Mathias Goerens (Luxembourg)
  • Dr. Romain Meyer (Luxembourg)
  • Mr. Patrick Michaely (Luxembourg)
  • Prof. Jean-Frank Wagner (Germany)

Administrative and Social Address

Musée National d’Histoire Naturelle, Luxembourg
1A, rue Plaetis
L-2338 Luxembourg
Grand Duchy of Luxembourg / Europe

ECGS Office

European Center for Geodynamics and Seismology (ECGS)
19, rue Josy Welter
L-7256 Walferdange
Grand Duchy of Luxembourg / Europe
Tel: +352 331487-1
Fax: +352 331487-88

ECGS Annual Reports

Annual Report 2018 PDF icon
Annual Report 2019 PDF icon
Annual Report 2020 PDF icon
Annual Report 2021 PDF icon
Annual Report 2022 PDF icon